California Coalition on Workers' Compensation

About

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for managing the affairs of the organization, including setting policies and directing CCWC staff.

The Board of Directors is typically comprised of 25 members, who serve a two-year term. Directors are eligible for re-election to the Board at the Board of Directors meeting closest to the expiration of that two-year term. 

The Board meets face-to-face on a quarterly basis, with the July meeting taking place during the CCWC Annual Conference.

Dan Bagan
Dan Bagan

Chair, Board of Directors

West Region Risk Manager
UPS
dbagan@ups.com

Kurt Leisure
Kurt Leisure

Vice Chair/Conference Commitee Chair, Board of Directors

Vice President, Risk Services/Asset Protection
The Cheesecake Factory Incorporated
kleisure@thecheesecakefactory.com

Kevin Confetti
Kevin Confetti

Immediate Past-Chair, Board of Directors

Deputy Chief Risk Officer
University of California - Office of the President - Office of Risk Services
kevin.confetti@ucop.edu

Antoinette Smith
Antoinette Smith

Secretary, Board of Directors

Assistant Vice President
Metro Risk Management
antoinette.smith@metrorm.com

Matthew O'Shea
Matthew O'Shea

Treasurer/Government Relations Committee Chair, Board of Directors

Legislative Specialist
Safeway, Inc.
matt.oshea@safeway.com

John Riggs
John Riggs

Membership Committee Chair, Board of Directors

Workers' Compensation Manager, Disneyland Resort
The Walt Disney Company
john.riggs@disney.com

Cynthia Leon
Cynthia Leon

Education Committee Chair, Board of Directors

Western Regional Manager
International Paper Co.
cynthia.leon@ipaper.com

Martin Brady
Martin Brady

Member, Board of Directors

Executive Director
Schools Insurance Authority
mbrady@sia-jpa.org

Edward Canavan
Edward Canavan

Member, Board of Directors

VP, Workers' Compensation Practice & Compliance
Sedgwick
edward.canavan@sedgwickcms.com

Nelson Colvin
Nelson Colvin

Member, Board of Directors

President/CEO
Golden Oak Cooperative Corporation, Inc.
nelson@goldenoak.org

Suzanne Guyan
Suzanne Guyan

Member, Board of Directors

Workers' Compensation Consultant
Guyan Consulting
guyansm@gmail.com

Jen Hamelin
Jen Hamelin

Member, Board of Directors

WC Claims Manager
CSAC Excess Insurance Authority
jhamelin@csac-eia.org

Carolyn Horton
Carolyn Horton

Member, Board of Directors

California WC Regional Manager
Costco Wholesale
chorton@costco.com

Dane Hutchings
Dane Hutchings

Member, Board of Directors

Governance, Transparency and Labor Relations Legislative Representative
League of California Cities
dhutchings@cacities.org

Roman Kownacki, M.D.
Roman Kownacki, M.D.

Member, Board of Directors

Regional Medical Director for Occupational Health
Kaiser Permanente
roman.kownacki@kp.org

James Mcmorrow
James Mcmorrow

Member, Board of Directors

Manager Integrated Disability Compliance and Quality Assurance
Pacific Gas & Electric Company
jpma@pge.com

Dan Nicholson
Dan Nicholson

Member, Board of Directors

Director
Sutter Health
nicholda@sutterhealth.org

Nicole Rice
Nicole Rice

Member, Board of Directors

Policy Director
California Manufacturers & Technology Association
nrice@cmta.net

Joel Sherman
Joel Sherman

Member, Board of Directors

Director, Safety & Workers' Compensation
Grimmway Farms
jsherman@grimmway.com

Paul Smith
Paul Smith

Member, Board of Directors

Director, Legislative Affairs
Rural County Representatives of California
psmith@rcrcnet.org

Ann Stephenson
Ann Stephenson

Member, Board of Directors

Vice President
Gallagher Bassett Services, Inc.
ann_stephenson@gbtpa.com

Matthew Sutton
Matthew Sutton

Member, Board of Directors

Senior Legislative Director
California Restaurant Association
msutton@calrest.org